Photo Book Melbourne

Photobook Award 2014

Photobook Award 2014

'Fibro Dreams' by Glenn Sloggett

Photobook Award 2014

'Don't Just Tell Them, Show Them' by Jesse Marlow

Photobook Award 2014

'Nauru: What was taken and what was given' by Kelvin Skewes

Photobook Award 2014

We 'Met a Little Early But I Get to Love You Longer' by Raphaela Rosella

Photobook Award 2014

'Gold Coast' by Ying Ang

Photobook Award 2014

'SALT' by Emma Phillips

Photobook Melbourne and Momento Pro have joined forces to present the Australian Photo Book Of The Year Award.

The Australian Photo Book Of The Year Award aims to celebrate and showcase the best Australian photographic books, based on their artistic, technical, critical and commercial merit. At Photobook Melbourne we want to bring Australian photography to the foreground and initiate a dialogue about photography and books. Our aim is to generate awareness and foster a more sustainable environment for the creation and sale of contemporary Australian photobooks, both locally and overseas.

We are dedicated to offering a platform for experimental and innovative book making practices. A platform for bookmakers to discuss, examine and cultivate new ways of perceiving and engaging with the photographic medium. Photobook Melbourne is not only providing physical venues featuring photobooks from around the world, but aims to encourage Australian photographers to make their own photobook and become part of the conversation.

Australian Photo Book Of The Year Award exhibition will be held at the Asia Pacific Photobook Archive from 12-22 Feb 2015, featuring all finalist and winning books. Visitors will be invited to vote for their favorite book and most votes wins the People’s Choice Award ($500 Momento Pro credit)

We will announce the Australian Photo Book Of The Year Award winner at the opening on the 12 February 2015.



Ashley Gilbertson – Bedrooms Of The Fallen
Jackson Eaton – Better Half
Jesse Marlow – Don’t Just Tell Them, Show Them
Glenn Sloggett – Fibro Dreams
Ying Ang – Gold Coast
Kristian Laemmle-Ruff – In the Folds of Hills
Odette England – Lover of Home
Kelvin Skewes – Nauru: What was taken and what was given
Jessie + Jacqueline DiBlasi – Nonna to Nana
Emma Phillips – SALT
Brendan Esposito – The Beginning
Andrea Francolini – The Kings of KKH
David Kirkland – Tribal PNG
Stephen Dupont – Typhoon
Raphaela Rosella – We Met a Little Early But I Get to Love You Longer

All finalist books will be showcased during the Photobook Melbourne festival and later exhibited at Momento Pro in Sydney.



Winner – $1,500 cash + $8,000 Momento Pro credit
Runner Up – $1,500 Momento Pro credit
People’s Choice – $500 Momento Pro credit



Shaune Lakin (Curator of Photography
@ National Gallery Of Australia

Diana Hill (Publisher
@ Murdoch Books

Sonya Jeffery
@ Books at Manic

Kim Hungerford
Art and Design Consultant and Buyer @ Kinokuniya

Michael Howard
Joint Art Director @ Sydney Morning Herald

Doug Spowart
Research Fellow Australian Library of Art


Feb 12-22


Photobook Archive

395 Gore Street

More Book Award